As you are probably aware, our contemporary English content is now available through Lexico.com (https://www.lexico.com/en), and our old English dictionary site no longer exists.

As a result of this, this forum is now closed.

The English dictionary community team would like the opportunity to say a huge thanks to all of you who participated by posting questions and helping other community members.
We hope this forum was useful, and that you enjoyed being a part of it.

If you would like to get in touch with any OED-related queries, please write to
[email protected]

And if you would like to contribute suggestions to the OED, please do so by visiting: https://public.oed.com/contribute-to-the-oed/

Thank you very much indeed, and good bye!
The community team

Infinite without the preposition "'to"

Hi everyone,

This is my first post here.
I'm studying English by my self, and sometimes it's hard to understand some grammar rule.

For example, have a look the following sentence:
"Everybody wants to save the Earth; nobody wants to help Mom do the dishes."

Why does it says " help Mom do the dishes" and not help Mom to do the dishes"
Why there is not the preposition "to"?

Thanks to anyone will help me to understand the reason why this sentence is correct. If it is...

Regards,
Ledung

Comments

• @Ledung, English has two infinitives: the TO -INFINITIVE and the BARE INFINITIVE.

The BARE INFINITIVE is more common than people realise.

• An important set of verbs can be followed only by the bare infinitive.
      will go, would go, shall go, should go, can go, could go, may go, might go, must go

• Two verbs are sometimes followed by the bare infinitive and sometimes by the to-infinitive.
      dare go/ dare to go, need go/need to go

• The CONTRACTED NEGATIVE forms can be followed only by the bare infinitive.
      daren't go, needn't go but NOT daren't to go, needn't to go

• Three two-word verbs are followed by the bare infinitive