what is the category of "ID, driving license, passport" as a procedure??

what is the category of "ID, driving license, passport" as a procedure??
Is it Personal status? or is it civil services? or is it civil proceedings? or there is another word?
Thanks.

Comments

• A document is not a procedure. A driving licence or a passport may be a proof of status or proof of identity. ID is a deliberately vague term, which sometimes refers to a document.

Personal status doesn't really mean anything. Do you mean identity?

Civil service (not services) means 'state administration'.

Civil proceedings means 'court cases which are not criminal'.

• Thank you. I know the meaning of proof of identity, my question is: what are these documents called in general; for example, if my job is to extract IDs for other people, what would my job be categorized? is the name of the field.
    I'll give you an example. I am a structure engineer, so my field of working is construction. from the same perspective, if I work in an office to extract IDs, so my field of working is...………

can you continue??

is it one of the names that I mentioned beforehand? or there other names.

Thanks.

• 'Documents in general' are called documentation.

A 'field of working' is expressed by a phrase based on a verbal noun such as confirmation of identity or establishment of identity. You could perhaps use the single word identification if the context made clear what you meant.

• No this is not what I am looking for. I would like you to tell me what could be the name of the office that issue the ID, or driving license and other staff like that?

• From an issuing point of view a driving licence and a passport are completely different documents with completely distinct functions and purposes. And ID is meaningless.

It's only for verification that these things come comparable.

• DavidCrosbieDavidCrosbie ✭✭✭
    edited November 19

When i said

And ID is meaningless.