Pronunciation of the definite article "The"

I have noticed that there is an increase is use of a change in pronunciation of "the" before a vowel, most notably within the media, and has grown since the decision to leave "the EU". I was always taught that before a vowel the sound was like a clipped "Thee" or "Thi" to give "Thi EU". Many broadcasters now use the same sound as for a consonant, so we have "Th' EU" and many other examples. To me this sounds stilted and wrong. Am I just failing to move with the times?

Apologies but I have limited knowledge of phonetic spelling but hopefully I have made the point clear enough.

Comments

• The basic or 'unmarked' pronunciation of the definite article, pridge, is what we might represent as thuh. Similarly, the 'unmarked' pronunciation of the indefinite article is uh or uhn. But sometimes we want to stress the words — often to contrast one with the other — e.g. not the Customs Union but a customs union. the pronunciations we use for these stressed forms are THEE and EIGH. To contrast an — e.g. not the association but an association, we use the pronunciations THEE and ANN.

Before a vowel sound (including the Y-sound), it's not impossible to use the 'primary' thuh pronunciation. The trick is to use the little cough noise know as a glottal stop. However, many (most?) speakers of English use a variant of the 'secondary' THEE sound. I say 'a variant' because the exact choice differs between accents. The highly clipped THI pronunciation is taught as the RECEIVED PRONUNCIATION prestige version. However, even among RP-speakers, I think a little glide — a very short Y-sound — is common. In other accents, the pronunciation is closer to THEE — only other shorter.

So, to take another set of initials, for many speakers the ABC calls for a pronunciation with a Y-sound:
    • either as part of the EE sound — THEE EIGH BEE SEE
    • or tagged on to the Isound — THI-y-EIGH BEE SEE