Apostrophes

I'm an English teacher in Scotland, and have been trying to pin down a definitive answer to the use of apostrophes for words ending with S.

So far as I can tell, this seems to be a matter of "house style" with "St. James's Park" and "St. James' Park" both acceptable according to the conventions of different publishers, institutions and so on.

Is this correct? What would the OED's approach be?

Comments

• joughtredjoughtred admin
    edited August 1

Hello @gconnor860

This is a tricky one. New Hart’s Rules states that:

It is impossible to predict with certainty whether a place name ending in s requires an apostrophe. For example:

Land’s End
    Lord’s Cricket Ground
    Offa’s Dyke
    St James’s Palace

But

All Souls College
    Earls Court
    Johns Hopkins University
    St Andrews

Check doubtful instance in the New Oxford Dictionary for Writers and Editors or in gazetteer or encyclopedic dictionary.

I appreciate that not all of this relates to place names ending in 's'! I think what is being said here is that there isn’t a strict rule for apostrophes in place names, and that the correct form is that used by an official source related to the place itself.

We have checked the NODWE, and although it doesn’t have St James’s Park, it does have St James’s Palace. The most official looking source we could find is the Royal Parks website, where it is given as St James’s Park.

https://www.royalparks.org.uk/parks/st-jamess-park

There's a further guide to apostrophe use available here, if it is useful to you at all: https://en.oxforddictionaries.com/punctuation/apostrophe

• I don't understand, @joughtred
    How should I do if the name is not a park?

• Hi @Hector_Hernandez. If you are trying to work out whether you should put an apostrophe+s where the name ends in s and it's an organization, the safest thing is to check the organization's website, as there is no set rule here.