Adultery

This is my first time on this forum and I think I screwed-up my first posting so I'll do it again!

How did the word 'adultery' come to used as a translation of the Greek word 'moichatai' in the Bible? All the other words associated with adultery like 'adulterate', 'adulteration' mean spoiling of a pure substance so how did this become to mean marital infidelity?

Comments

• DavidCrosbieDavidCrosbie ✭✭✭

The two senses were present in the source of adultery and adulteration — Classical Latin VERB adulterare and NOUN adulterium.

The earliest recorded use in the OED is in a legal Statue of about 1325. It names the marital crime of adultery using the Anglo French term aduoterie. Other spellings found in Anglo-Norman documents were avouterie and advoutrie. The manuscripts of Chaucer from around 1400 include the spellings Auotrie and adultrie.

Medieval English scribes weren't consistent in spelling, and were sometimes but not consistently thinking about the French verb avoutre 'commit adultery'. Later writers and printers decided to base the form and spelling on the Classical Latin.

The NOUN adulteration and the VERB adulterate with the 'add impurity' meaning were taken from French much later. The OED records 1502 for the NOUN and 1526 for the VERB.

The etymology of the Latin is ad 'to' + alterare 'change'.

• Thanks but this is not helpful.
    I still don't see how adultery can mean marital infidelity if all the other meaning don't.

edited July 12

The meaning of 'marital infidelity' originated in Classical Latin. It's the oldest meaning in English, and by far the most common. Adulterate and adulteration are relatively rare words.

For example, the OED places adulterate in Band 4 — words which are not so rare as to be unrecognised by most speakers, but are confined to specific style and subject matter. (The commonest words are in Band 8. Words in Band 1 are rare in the extreme and totally unrecognisable.)