Is there a way to filter my word results to only characters of the alphabet?

Hello,

I am a student attempting to make a basic word game with Javascript. I was hoping to request results in my Ajax request that only contained letters of the alphabet. Is this possible?

Additionally, is there any examples I could see of an Ajax request? I am having difficulty understanding where to include my key.

By the way, great API! So much easier to use and understand so far than other options.

Thank you!

Best Answer

Answers

• SimoneSimone Administrator admin
    edited March 2017

Hi @kurtwilliam !
    I'm happy you like the API, and you're finding it easy to use! :smile:
    Let me ask my colleagues about your questions, someone should get back to you very soon.

• AmosDuveenAmosDuveen Member, Administrator, Moderator admin

Hi @kurtwilliam,

Glad you like the API. The most likely scenario is that you will have to do some pre- and/or post-processing to clean up either the input or the output because there isn't a filter available to limit the types of character used.

That said, this API is a work in progress and we are keen to take onboard any suggestions from real-life use cases to help us direct our development efforts so, if enough people ask for the same thing we can make it more of a priority.

Can I ask you what type of game you are trying to create? ...and what type of calls you are trying to make (and to which endpoints)?

...also, regarding the programming examples, that is another area we are looking to develop so I have added Ajax to the list (again, development will be guided by demand)

• kurtwilliamkurtwilliam Member

Hello @AmosDuveen and @Simone ,